Dr. John Goodenough Accepts 2021  Washington Award Nomination

John B. Goodenough is a Professor of Materials Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. He is the 2019 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry. After returning from World War II, he received a Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Chicago in 1952, was a Group Leader of The MIT Lincoln Laboratory from 1952-1976 where he helped to develop the magnetic memory element of the first RAM of the digital computer and engaged in fundamental studies of transition-metal oxides. From 19761986, he was Professor and Head of the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory of the University of Oxford, England, where he developed the cathodes that have enabled the Li-ion battery, and since 1986 he has held the Virginia H. Cockrell Centennial Chair of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin where he has continued development of the rechargeable battery, catalytic electrodes for the solid oxide fuel cell, and the use of high pressure to study the transition from localized to itinerant d electrons in transition-metal oxides.

Richard Berger-V3

About theWashington Award

The prestigious Washington Award is conferred upon an engineer(s) whose professional attainments have preeminently advanced the welfare of human kind. Each year, during Engineers Week, presentation of the award is made at a joint banquet of the members and guests of the Western Society of Engineers; the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers; American Society of Civil Engineers; American Society of Mechanical Engineers; Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers; National Society of Professional Engineers; and the American Nuclear Society.
Washington Award
Discover Engineers Week

Banquet Info

2021 Virtual Chicagoland Engineering Awards Benefit

When: February 25, 2021

Click here to register for our virtual event

Featuring the 103rd presentation of the Washington Award.


Future Engineers

In addition to the presentation of the Washington Award, nearly 100 pre-college students will be recognized for their success in regional STEM competitions.


Learn More